The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
3
0:00
-3:04

The ALIVE hour

S3: Episode 5
3

Dreams.

Why are they

So interesting to us and

So totally boring to everyone else?

Are they not lived experiences?

Or is it more like finger painting

On the inside of your brain?

I don’t know.

But

I like them

And I like thinking about them and talking about them.

They often feel like…

Friends.

This ☝️, via “The Medium is the Massage,” a very smart, bizarre book about how media and technology are warping us all. (And written in 1967!) I also just ordered “Cheap Copies! The Obsolete Press Guide to DIY Hectography, Mimeography & Spirit Duplication,” which is coming to me in the mail via the great people at Half Letter Press soon.

Print, print, print. What does that look like in almost-2023? What is valuable to you? I hang on to postcards sent by friends, cool handmade cards, art projects I made in fifth grade. I definitively do not hang on to all of the bank statements and medical bills I still get mailed to me, despite repeatedly making known my desire for “paperless.”
*Le sigh*

Speaking of print: I’ll be sending out a round of Christmas printed goodies to subscribers in the coming weeks. If you’d like to get in on that action, consider becoming a paid subscriber. Or consider giving someone else a gift subscription. Tis the season! 🎶✨

**

Illustration: Shannon Colón
Audio mixing + music: Chloe Riley

3 Comments
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour is an audio journey about how we all get up and keep moving every day. Remembering together how to feel. How to take five minutes to just be here, in the world, right now.
We’re surviving. Together. Welcome to The ALIVE hour.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Chloe Riley
Recent Episodes
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley