The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
6
0:00
-6:41

The ALIVE hour

episode 4
6

When I look at this I see
The ocean obviously because
There’s the ocean there
White capped and violent
Salty
Blue
Ruminating on itself
But I also see other pictures in my head
A seagull stealing the last bite right out of my hand
The way sand can cover you
Almost to the point of going under
All the times I was ever away
Warm
Free
And simultaneously worried about going back
And the wave I think
I think it draws you in, doesn’t it
Or does it repel you
Push you away
You feel it too right
How attracted you can be
To power
To things bigger than yourself
To answers that engulf you and take away the chance of
Drowning in them
Almost like you can hear it
You hear it right
Come on in the water’s fine

Welcome to The ALIVE hour.

Illustration: Shannon Colon
Audio, music: Chloe Riley


Things found in real life:

  • My friend Libby and I enjoying a meal in the world together:

  • This cute little cup that also joined us for lunch:

Things found on the internet:

  • This quote from an interview with Lin-Manuel Miranda with regard to his feature film directional debut of “Tick, Tick…Boom!” (an adaptation of the semi-autographical musical from Jonathan Larson of “Rent” fame):

“That last song is all questions, but the real question is: Fear or love? If you get yourself into a place of fear, of “What are people going to say about what I write?,” you’re fucked. It’s over. And that’s a place I have to really push past now in a different way.”

  • This comic about a charming French murderer from the extremely talented Sulagna Misra (see full comic here):


Thank you for listening.

Thank you for telling me how you feel.

Thank you for sharing.

Thank you for being in my life in this way.

Thank you.

Share The ALIVE hour

6 Comments
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour is an audio journey about how we all get up and keep moving every day. Remembering together how to feel. How to take five minutes to just be here, in the world, right now.
We’re surviving. Together. Welcome to The ALIVE hour.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Chloe Riley
Recent Episodes
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley