The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
5
0:00
-9:44

The ALIVE hour

episode 5
5

Hi. 

Today’s audio episode is above.

Next:

We are going to try a thing.

The following week’s “episode” is going to be me sending you (all 54 of you) a handwritten note. 

Your part in this is to receive the note. To receive. 

Your optional part in this is to receive the note and:

  • Do something with it that feels meaningful

    • Put it somewhere + take a picture

    • Burn it

    • Cut it up + make it into something else

  • Write back

  • Allow it to touch you

Those parts are optional. Like I said, the only role you’re required to play is to receive. If you think I may not have your address, you can go ahead and add it here

I am doing this because 

I want us both to think about this.

What do you want?

Do you want to know me?

Do you want me to know you?

Ask yourself.

Then tell me.

Welcome to The ALIVE hour.

Illustration: Shannon Colon
Audio: Chloe Riley, story / vocals. carefulGIANTS, music.


Things found in real life

  • This message / drawing I made when I was five

  • This sunrise coming into the bedroom

Things found on the internet

As Anastasia Higginbotham suggests in her wonderful picture book “Death Is Stupid,” another approach is to connect to the granular details of loved ones’ lives: “Wear what they wore. Play what they played. Read what they read. Make what they made.” It is excellent advice, but all the same, it will never be enough.

  • The song “We Become Birds” from the late Chicago musician Michael Peter Smith, featuring Anne Hills.

The whole day goes by. Birds and more birds. We become birds when we die. We fly away. But we come back. We become birds when we die.

I’m so happy. I’ve been given this time here. Don’t want to waste my time on this earth.

5 Comments
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour is an audio journey about how we all get up and keep moving every day. Remembering together how to feel. How to take five minutes to just be here, in the world, right now.
We’re surviving. Together. Welcome to The ALIVE hour.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Chloe Riley
Recent Episodes
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley