The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
17
0:00
-10:45

The ALIVE hour

episode 3 — S2
17

Hello nobody!
It’s me, you
How blue
How alike we two

You say it’s dreary
I say that too!
To be all of everything, myself,
And now, you too

***

Welcome to The ALIVE hour.

Support The ALIVE hour

Illustration: Shannon Colon
Audio mixing / narrative: Chloe Riley
Music: Chloe Riley + Mark Riley

Things found in real life

  • The “What I Want is to be Feral” blood orange smoothie from my friend Katie (no measurements of course because, feral)
    ***

    The “What I Want is to be Feral” blood orange smoothie:

    • coconut milk yogurt

    • plant based milk, full woods

    • frozen blueberries

    • 1 blood orange

    • vanilla

    • cinnamon

    • agave

And if you’re feeling super full woods, use a second orange, a cara cara, in place of the agave. cheers,

(Photo, Katie)

  • This heart chocolate and this cookie on this plate:

Things found on the internet

  • Is anyone else starting to create inadvertent Worlde poetry?

(Try it yourself. Pass along this way if you’re feeling frisky.)

  • This delayed New York Times obit of Chicago artist Lee Godie, an eccentric who lived on the streets and made a prolific amount of art, including hundreds of photo booth self portraits. (I also wrote about her several years ago here):

I always try to paint beauty, but some people say my paintings aren’t beautiful. Well, I have beauty in mind, but it isn’t always easy to make paintings beautiful.

  • This conversation between Louie Anderson and Bob Saget, both of whom died this month. A lot of love here.

Louie: My intention for books is: Can it help me? And if it can help me, maybe someone else can get a little light out of it.

Bob: I think that’s how you approach everything, that’s why it’s so wonderful.

17 Comments
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour is an audio journey about how we all get up and keep moving every day. Remembering together how to feel. How to take five minutes to just be here, in the world, right now.
We’re surviving. Together. Welcome to The ALIVE hour.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Chloe Riley
Recent Episodes
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley