The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
7
--:--
--:--

The ALIVE hour

episode 9 — S2
7

There’s a deepness and a darkness and the
Darkness goes
Deep
There’s a winner and a loser
And awakeness and a sleep
Dreaming and I’m seeing and I’m losing my
Place
Face it little honey all the volume’s gone dim
A shimmy and a shaking
And a singing that hymn
It’s like a song I can’t remember but it’s stuck in my
Brain
And the rain it washes over
And my body goes hum
And the pain goes slosh
And the feeling goes numb
And I reach for your hand
And the sand runs quick
And it’s almost over now
And they lay it on thick
And the drops run down
And they drop
drip
Drop
And the go gets grabby and I stop
Slip
stop.

And I can’t see you now
And I guess I never will
The room’s done spinning honey
Still.

***

Welcome to The ALIVE hour.

Support The ALIVE hour

Illustration: Shannon Colón
Audio mixing + music: Chloe Riley
Narrative: Molly Dunn, via an upcoming memoir

Things found in real life

  • This house in a moon:

  • This shadow of myself:

Things found on the internet

  • This interview with philosopher / soothsayer / keen observer of humanity Cornel West. Much good in here, but specifically this:

You preserve your moral integrity and tell the truth. And then the worms get you. Because they going to get you one way or the other anyway. Might as well go with some integrity and with style. Right?

  • This found bag, posted by cartoonist Roz Chast:

  • This essay from The ALIVE hour illustrator Shannon Colón:

I’m inspired by how explicit my dog is with what she wants. I’m moved by her present and persistent nature. It seems so easy for her to express what’s on her mind. I want to feel comfortable sharing my needs too, and sometimes I don’t even know what they are.

Instead of creating excuses, what if I’m the one stretching by the door? What would my dramatic yawn sound like?

***

What is the sound
Of your dramatic yawn?

7 Comments
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour
The ALIVE hour is an audio journey about how we all get up and keep moving every day. Remembering together how to feel. How to take five minutes to just be here, in the world, right now.
We’re surviving. Together. Welcome to The ALIVE hour.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Chloe Riley
Recent Episodes
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley
  Chloe Riley